Agricultural Bureau Awards

Supporting South Australia’s Rural Communities

Applications are now open for the Agricultural Bureau of South Australia longest running awards, The Peter Olsen Fellowship and the Rural Youth Bursary, through the Spirit of Excellence Awards. These awards provide an opportunity for young farmers and people in rural communities to improve their personal and professional development skills and to consider further study in their chosen career.

Funded by the Agricultural Bureaux, The Peter Olsen Fellowship provides a bursary for a young farmer to improve his or her personal and professional development skills. This award is open to SA primary producers, between 18 and 35 years, who have been involved in farming for the past 12 months.

The Rural Youth Bursary is open to young people (18–30 years) who are working in a rural community, not necessarily agriculture, to undertake further study in their chosen career with an ultimate benefit to their community.

Chair of the Advisory Board of Agriculture, Mark Grossman, said the successful recipients are chosen on their abilities, achievements, vision and motivation for success.

“It is important that we encourage and support rural youth who are working not only in primary production but in careers that sustain rural communities,” said Mr Grossman.

“The application process is relatively simple and members of the community are asked to nominate and encourage applicants.” Applications close August 31, 2014 and applications forms are available on the website:


Scroll to Top